The RJC’s Board structure reflects the whole-of-supply chain participation of RJC Members.  Elections to the Board are held annually, ensuring representation across the 7 Member Forums and a balance of supply chain interests, from mine to retail, with no one sector dominant.  Membership of the RJC is open to any business in the jewellery supply chain who makes a commitment to assurance of responsible business practices.

RJC’s multi-stakeholder standards development process, involving a range of supply chain participants and stakeholders in the RJC Standards Committee, is a key strength of the Council.


RJC_Governance_Handbook_2012 update_OCT 1


The RJC Governance Handbook (2012) provides guidance as to how the RJC Memorandum of Association and the Articles of Association are to be implemented, and how the Board and Committees of the Council are run.

The executive functions and day-to-day management of the Council are carried out by the RJC Management Team.

RJC Board of Directors:

  • Chairman: Wilfried Hoerner – Argor-Heraeus SA
  • Vice Chairman: Charles Chaussepied  – Piaget
  • Honorary Secretary: Mark Jenkins – Signet Jewelers Limited
  • Honorary Treasurer: Feriel Zerouki – De Beers Group


  • Bernadette Pinet-Couq – BJOP
  • Olivier Villain – Van Cleef & Arpels
  • Daniela Colaiacovo – Goldlake
  • Ankur Goyal – MMTC-PAMP Pvt Ltd
  • Didier Backaert – Bonas & Co.
  • Jean-Baptiste Dembreville – Baume & Mercier
  • Jacques Morsel – Dali Diamond Company
  • Juergen Mueller-Schaefer – Heraeus Limited
  • Harriet Kelsall – Harriet Kelsall Jewellery Design Ltd
  • Larry Drummond – Metalor Technologies SA
  • Boaz Lev – Gem Lab Services
  • Michael Rawlinson – National Association of Jewellers (NAJ)
  • Michael Steinmetz – Leo Schachter Diamonds LLC
  • Philippe Neu – Charles Perroud SAS
  • Peter Karakchiev – Public Joint Stock Company ALROSA
  • Saul Rubins – Berker Bros Ltd
  • Sharad Jobanputra – Sequel Logistics Pvt Ltd
  • Stella Layton – The Birmingham Assay Office
  • Stephane Fischler – International Diamond Manufacturers Association
  • Stephen Lussier – De Beers Group of Companies
  • Bernard Malek – Cartier SA


RJC Committee Chairs

  • Standards Committee: Claus Teilmann Petersen (Pandora) and Interim Co-Chair, Ainsley Butler (Diamond Development Initiative)
  • Accreditation and Certification Committee:  Jon Phillips (Corona Jewellery Company Ltd)
  • Communications Committee: David Bouffard (Signet)
  • Membership Committee: Philipp Reisert (C. Hafner GmbH + Co. KG)
  • Legal Committee: Mark Jenkins (Signet Jewelers)